Still the best way to travel

It’s time for me to admit it. I love trains. No, I’m not one of those “train collectors,” but I think the train is the best way to travel.

I’m currently sitting on the Amtrack Acela service from New York’s Penn Station to Boston. I left (early) this morning from Boston for all day meetings in New York. Here’s the situation: we’re traveling at around 100mph, I’ve got a beautiful view of the sunset over the harbor. I’m sitting in a comfortable seat (even more comfortable than my office chair!). I’ve got two seats to myself with a solid tray for my computer (this is not like one of those flimsy ones you get on the plane). I’m connected to the office/email etc through my Sprint broadband connection. Plus, I’m sitting in the quiet car– the only sound I hear is the tapping of my fingers on the keyboard. This is definitely the best way to travel.

A few minutes ago I realized that I’d handled all of the open issues in my inbox. Not only am I comfortable, but I’m productive. I’ll get home by 10pm– getting to my car will take 5 minutes from the moment I get off the train and it’s about a 30 minute ride home. As a startup guy, this kind of travel experience is priceless. Not only am I all caught up with the most pressing issues of the day, but I’m relaxed enough to spend a little quality time with my wife this evening.

Yes– sometimes the trains are delayed (ehhhmmm…like this morning). But give me the nicest car in the world or a first class seat on a 767 and I’ll be happier on a train any day.

“New Haven’s the next stop! All aboard!”

Leave a Reply

