I shook Robert’s hand today

Frequent readers of this blog will know that in late June I wrote a personal story about my neighbor Robert. He was in a horrible bike accident, and I felt connected to his story. He just happened to be the unlucky one that day.

Today has been the day I’ve been waiting for– I shook his hand and said hello. Robert is home and doing very well. After 9 days in a medically induced coma, Robert awoke and has slowly been regaining his old self. I’m no doctor, but brain trauma injuries often end up with horrible consequences. I can’t tell you how good it felt to talk to him, shake his hand, and to hear that he’s retained all of his memories. He remembers us talking about the dangers of that route just days before his accident. And he was impressed at how much our lawn has grown since he’s been away. (For the curious among us: no, he doesn’t remember the accident).

Robert is inspiring. Only one month after the accident, he’s (almost) back to his old self. He’s taking care of his trees and once again working on having the best lawn on the block. I’ve resumed calling him “Ned Flanders.” Feels really good.

Robert has helped remind me of the things that truly matter– just to see him on his two feet is an inspiration.

Robert’s got a long way to go, but what a long way he’s already come. Some stories really do have a happy ending.

Leave a Reply

