I just ran a startup

On my run this morning, I couldn’t help but notice some of the similarities between my 35 minute run and what it’s like to be in the middle of a startup.  I’ve written about this subject before, but I think there are many more similarities still to be discussed.

For example: I felt some discomfort on my run this morning in my right knee. I thought about stopping, but I knew the best thing was to see if it got better as my legs warmed up. There’s plenty of discomfort when you’re running a startup. Knowing when to stop and adjust is key. Most of the time, you need to just keep going. (My knee was fine)

Along my route, I saw lots of people. Some said hello, some ignored me, and some offered some glances and smiles of encouragement. Just like a startup. It’s nice to get encouragement, but not everyone is going to offer it. The most important thing is to keep going– one step in front of the other.

If you were to break down my run from start to finish, I think you would find that it was a mini-version of what I’m going through  running this startup. Ups, downs, some pain, some encouragement, and lots of experiences along the way.

Running is a great analogy for us at MyPunchbowl.com. Keep moving and we’ll get somewhere. One foot in front of the other.

Leave a Reply

