The response of our customers

Yesterday, I sent out a personal email to everyone who mistakenly received a reminder email. As I wrote yesterday, we had a server problem that caused certain users to receive incorrect reminders. Not a big deal, but it did confuse some people.

I decided to be proactive and write a personal email to the people who were affected. I carefully crafted the email, and made sure that we took full responsibility for the mistake. I wrote “…This is completely unacceptable and we’re very sorry that this happened. We take the sending of emails very seriously– we don’t like getting extra emails and know that you don’t either (hopefully this one is ok!). I hope you will accept our apologies for this mistake.”

I have to admit that I was a bit nervous sending it– afterall, here I was sending another email apologizing for sending email! Oh, the hypocrisy.. 

With some trepidation, I opened my email this morning. And here is a sampling of what I found:

“Hi Matt,  I’m not sure if this will actually get through to you, but if it does, I just wanted to thank you for even sending this email. There are so many mistakes made or extra emails sent out, that go unspoken for. Your level of customer service is exactly what makes MyPunchbowl so great.  Thank you, Michelle”

“Wow. Really great email . . . i was one of the people who received the reminder and I really appreciate this email. It makes such a difference when a company takes the time to apologize. Makes all the difference between your company and all the others that offer similar services.  Keep up the great work. Best, Patricia”

“Apology accepted. – Sree”

To all of the people that wrote to me. Thank you, thank you, thank you. You are the reason that we wake up everyday and develop this software. 

We turned a potentially bad impression into a good one. To me, this is what it is all about.

Leave a Reply

