SF NewTech meetup

Last Wednesday night, I went to the SF New Tech Meetup, that was held in the Metreon. I remember when the Metreon opened, and now it is a colossal building of new tech gadgets and stores. Think of it as a cross between a traditional mall and a Best Buy. I was early to the event, so I got a chance to talk to a lot of people. A few people recognized me from the Startup Camp a few months ago. They must think I live in SF!

I had a nice conversation with the founder of Crush3r. I hadn’t heard of them before, but they are building an interesting online invitation app for “younger users” (note: his quote, not mine). We talked about potential ways we could work together—we’ll see how that develops over time.

The main event was a series of presentations and demos. The night started with Guy Kawasaki showing off Truemors, the site that he apparently created for $12K. I wasn’t impressed. Guy is great at positioning and messaging, and his story is compelling. However, he knows just as well as I do that there is a *huge* difference between an entrepreneur that starts from scratch and someone who is very connected and independently wealthy. As a well-read blogger, I think he’s doing a disservice to many budding entrepreneurs. I wish he would educate people on how to get through the hard stuff, and not trivialize how easy it is to start a company. More on this in a future post.

The most fun demo of the night was Blabberize. Think of it as an app that allows you to create your own Monkimail from a photo. Funny stuff, but despite what the presenter said, I don’t see an obvious revenue model. However, I can imagine some sort of integration with MyPunchbowl. Maybe I’ll reach out to them in the future.

There were a few other demos: Jugglemystuff, and Rateitall. I felt bad for the guy from Jugglemystuff. He clearly wasn’t comfortable presenting, and the app didn’t show well. Rateitall is a nice site– more on that in a future post.

Overall, the SF NewTech meetup was a very worthwhile event. I’d love to present MyPunchbowl at this event in the future.

Leave a Reply

