“I like a bank where I can speak to the President”

And with those words, I watched a woman walk out of the Bank of America today. It got me thinking– what would it have taken to keep her as a customer?

The scene I witnessed minutes earlier was something out of a bad movie. She was an older woman, who clearly didn’t trust big business. Apparently she had been charged some extra bank fees, and she wasn’t satisfied with the assurance that the fees would be removed. She wanted proof, and she wanted to talk to the bank’s president.

I’d like to think that regardless of how big MyPunchbowl gets, our customers will still be able to call me or email me. I have to admit I love getting calls from real customers. I’ve had the opportunity over the last few months to talk to users from around the country and hear about how they are using MyPunchbowl.com. And it’s always mutually rewarding– users get to talk to one of the people who helped create the application, and I get to hear how they are really using the site.

For those of you who don’t know, my cell phone is listed on our FAQ page (at the bottom of the page, under “Customer Support.” You can call me anytime day or night. If I’m around, I’ll answer the phone and try to help you with MyPunchbowl. And don’t hesitate to call if you have feature suggestions or just want to tell us what you think of the site.

As that old commercial said: “I’m not only a customer, I’m also the President.” MyPunchbowl.com is a place where you can speak to the President. And I intend to keep it that way.

Leave a Reply

