Things you can do with one finger…

More than 24 hours have passed since the last Super Bowl commercial played, so I think I’ve waited long enough to see which commercials have really stuck in my mind. As a pure marketing guy, I’m a sucker for a good commercial. I know how much work goes into crafting the right message and just how difficult it is to be witty. So, without further ado, here are my superlatives for the most memorable commercials of Super Bowl 2007:

Most out of place:Has to go to Sales Genie. I think all of us watching thought that it was actually building up to a punchline…and then we realized that it was a lame commerical for software we don’t care about.

Biggest waste of money:After all of the hype about the GoDaddy commerical, I was really disappointed. That’s the best they could come up with? And the song made me sick to my stomach.

Furthest from their brand:CareerBuilder has done such a good job over the years building their brand around the monkeys (think Monkimail). So where were the monkeys this year? People love monkeys. CareerBuilder are you listening?? Bring back the monkeys!

Newest old commercial:At the Super Bowl party I attended, people gave high marks to the Budweiser/Grand Theft Auto commerical. The problem with that commerical is that it wasn’t new (according to someone who swears they have seen it before). I think it was very well done.  But not new? Come on, this is the Super Bowl…it *has* to be new to please the audience.

And finally….the most memorable commerical goes to…. E*Trade.  Their “things you can do with one finger” commercial was a brilliant combination of suspense and message. My favorite line: “and you can use one finger to tell your broker where to go.”

Yes, there are many things you can do with one finger. Here’s another one: try planning your next party at http://www.mypunchbowl.com (see I told you I’m a marketing guy).

2 Responses to Things you can do with one finger…

  1. MARC says:

    I have to disagree with you on Career Builder … their commercials were memorable and reinforced the message that where ever you work now sucks…start looking. One *could* even argue that their jungle location actually reinforces the monkey motif but… I don’t think it’s even necessary.

    Monkeys are a vehicle for the message that it’s time to look for a job…they were not their brand.

    GoDaddy…I don’t think it’s been widely reported but Kevin Rose (of Digg fame) was featured in the spot and there could be hope that the digg-nation would make the commercial viral and get added exposure to that highly coveted audience (who also just happens to be large consumers of domains.) I guess it didn’t pay-off but if that was their approach… it was a neat idea.

    Sales Genie was a bomb but… people are talking about it so maybe that was their approach to make a lame commercial and win all the “worst lists”… no one is talking about the Honda spots and those were lame (and I don’t think they were concepted that way.)

    As for e*trade being the most memorable…sorry I don’t remember them so I can’t comment. 🙂

    p.s. mypunchbowl.com is awesome…continued success and buzz.

    best,
    marc

  2. Dave says:

    I’ve got to say, one of my favorites was the Sierra Mist beard comb-over. Freakin’ hilarious.

Leave a Reply

