The day I had coffee with TechCrunch

It’s been a good week, that’s for sure. We launched MyPunchbowl.com, and we’ve had quite a bit of coverage, especially because of the TechCrunch article. But it almost didn’t go that way. Everything turned out well, but I don’t think I’ll forget the day I had coffee with TechCrunch.

Since we’re based on the east coast, I had emailed Michael Arrington to try to set up a meeting while I was in San Francisco. Michael wrote back– he was going to be on vacation in Washington state, but he arranged for me and Nick Gonzalez to meet up. Obviously, I was psyched– if everything went well, MyPunchbowl.com would be on TechCrunch.

Nick and I traded emails, trying to figure out the best place to meet. After some internet searching, I picked a place that would have internet access. To be sure, I called the place and asked if they had wireless. “Oh yes, and it’s free” said the nice woman who answered the phone. Oh boy, she was wrong.

Fast forward to January 3rd– not only am I sick (with the flu), but now I’m standing outside of the place we are supposed to meet having just found out that they don’t have wireless and realizing that I may not be able to show Nick the product. Uh oh. I quickly get on the phone with Sean (co-founder) as he looks around online to find a place with wireless. A few minutes later, Sean calls back with some options– there’s a Starbucks not too far away. As I hang up the phone, I see Nick. I casually explain to him that we need to walk 3 blocks to find wireless. “No problem”, Nick says. (Note: Nick is a really laid back guy who made the whole thing not a big deal– thanks Nick).

A few minutes later, we’re at Starbucks. Of course my T*Mobile login didn’t work, so I had to create a whole new account. That took another few minutes. Nick was really patient, and once everything was set to go spent over an hour with me to really understand our vision.

With all that’s been written this week about MyPunchbowl, there’s really one thing that stands out to me: TechCrunch took the time to learn about our product AND our vision– and with all of the delays, Nick could have just as easily said that he didn’t have the time. But he did spend the time, and I think he really understands where we are headed. And TechCrunch’s conclusion?

“The ability to not only plan a party, but learn from the experiences of other party planners will be an attractive feature in party planning and provide a strong reason to choose MyPunchbowl over the others.”

Ah yes…it was a good week. But it almost didn’t go that way.

Start your next party at www.mypunchbowl.com

3 Responses to The day I had coffee with TechCrunch

  1. Snexlex says:

    I hope this will make my Starbucks stocks go up so I make some money on it 🙂 http://www.trendio.fr/word.php?language=en&wordid=1381

  2. BostonScott says:

    You guys did a wonderful job at WebInnovators earlier this evening.

    The idea of building another party building website did not sound exciting at first, but the interface/workflow/integrations really differentiate you and this is a service I think i’d actually use.

    Good luck… i’m sure you have a wild road ahead of you as you try to drive adoption!

  3. Mike Ford says:

    Great presentation at WebInno. Best of Luck!

Leave a Reply

